• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Sequester

pcminer7

Good Morning.

I am currently an upperclassman Naval ROTC student. I have one year left before I commission, and have heard a lot of talk but not very much substantive information about how the sequester will affect those of us already in the NROTC program. Does anyone have any gouge that relates to the sequester? Will the Navy be forced to close some of the units in order to meet budget demands? Will this have an effect upon the number of Aviators selected out of next year's graduating class?

P3 F0

None
Seriously, dude--don't worry about sequestering. You can't control it and don't want to take any sort of action until you hear from your CO. Period. Don't trust the rumor mill. No knows at this point what the ramifications will be and how deep the cuts will go--all the DoN knows right now is how much it has to cut, and roughly where it's best to make those cuts. Low-hanging fruit like furloughing and base facilities are easy and quick, so may be/are being implemented. Bigger things like closing NROTC units may or may not happen.

ea6bflyr

Working Class Bum
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
That's not what I heard. The Midn will be used as slave labor to help offset costs. No more summer cruises....
I thought that's what summer cruise was for already?
"Midshipman Jones. You will reporting to the Admiral Kuznetsov-class aircraft carrier Liaoning in Dalian, China for your summer cruise. Good luck, we are all counting on you to help drive down the national debt." :D

P3 F0

None
Well, now you're just begging for another alcohol-related liberty incident with immediate knee-jerk reaction from PACOM...

helolumpy

Apprentice School Principal
pilot
Contributor