• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

?'s about Primary and Pipeline

cans

New member to AW and all the information I've seen so far has been very very helpful. That being said I have no Military background period, and was just accepted into flight training this past spring. I recently signed my contract like 3 days ago and I'm scheduled to go to OCS in Jan 13'. I've also researched on cnatra how the pipeline and training work but just wanted to clear some things up. First when you go to primary when/how does the Navy choose which pipeline you’re going to? Second, do you fly the same plane throughout primary like everyone else, or is it broken up in to different parts throughout depending on the pipeline? Third, are there any classes that you need to take in addition to training to help your progression toward a certain a/c or rank? Like I said I'm completely new to the military lifestyle and order of it all so if these are stupid questions I apologize, but any direction on where to look for info would be greatly appreciated.

Also random question, I was watching a NatGeo program about being a Navy pilot and a pilot said that the average age of an actual Navy pilot who is flying on the ship is 27. Is that true? If so is there a reason for that? i.e. The Navy wants you to have more experience before they put you on the ship or there are certain classes you have to take prior to getting there. I know just from my own personal experience that 25 yr old me and 21 yr old me think and act completely different about things, just saying.

Recovering LSO

Suck Less
pilot
Contributor