• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Which Ride?

mad dog

the 🪨 🗒️ ✂️ champion
pilot
Contributor
But unlike them, you stunted and didn't graduate to the big boy toy. ?
Well…I had actually graduated to the big boy toy when I was on active duty. Pictured below is my new 1988 Suzuki GSX-R 750 Slingshot in the NASNI BOQ parking lot when I was in the RAG at HSL-41 circa 1988. Honestly, the bike was way too much bike for me…I “got skeert” a few too many times on that thing…so I sold it to an SH-2G aircrewman. So…I guess I’ve gone backwards…and have been “re-stunted” since I’ve been riding a Manco mini-bike since 1999.

ChuckMK23

FERS and TSP contributor!
pilot
Well…I had actually graduated to the big boy toy when I was on active duty. Pictured below is my new 1988 Suzuki GSX-R 750 Slingshot in the NASNI BOQ parking lot when I was in the RAG at HSL-41 circa 1988. Honestly, the bike was way too much bike for me…I “got skeert” a few too many times on that thing…so I sold it to an SH-2G aircrewman. So…I guess I’ve gone backwards…and have been “re-stunted” since I’ve been riding a Manco mini-bike since 1999.

View attachment 32434
Holy crap - this bike had more power, torque than my 1986 VW Jetta GLI Ensign mobile...

The styling went smooth and curvaceous with this model with almost everything being new - 73.0 x 44.7mm short-stroke motor, thinner piston rings, bigger main bearings, bigger valves, new high-lift camshaft, 36 mm contant-velocity semi-flatslide carbs and up rated suspension, wheels and tyres. All this produced 112 hp at 11,000 rpm to propel a dry weight of 195 kg. Unfortunately, it lost significant ground clearance (via the exhaust) and the adoption of 17" wheels which offered only a slim margin of error.