• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Stupid mistake - Will it deeply affect my chance of getting into the Navy?

ELM0927

Hi!

I am a college student and two years ago I made the dumbest mistake I could have ever done. I got charged for petty theft. I did get a diversion and never did anything like that ever since.

Now I am completing my NASIS and see that it is asking if I had ever been fired from a job before, and if so, why. Should I still say not write this incident down even though I got a diversion?

The only thing I am SUPER scared for is that I won't be accepted into the Navy because of this dumb mistake I did. Do you think this will seriously affect my chances? I want to be a SWO or Intelligence officer, but I am just so freaking scared that this incident will completely blow up my chances at me wanting to do anything in the Navy.

Can anyone please help me!!! :(

exNavyOffRec

you will have to disclose, a diversion will be treated like a conviction, and it will pop on a background check.

I am guessing the theft was from an employer?

exNavyOffRec

@NavyOffRec Yes it was. Do you think this will be a big problem?

It is an integrity issue, you will need to write a statement, you would probably have a better shot with SWO or aviation, others with very low selection rates look for things to ditch people and stealing from an employer is a red flag.

ELM0927

@n
It is an integrity issue, you will need to write a statement, you would probably have a better shot with SWO or aviation, others with very low selection rates look for things to ditch people and stealing from an employer is a red flag.