• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Studying Abroad

le lyon

NFO BDCP'er
First off just wanted to say how much I love this forum. It was extremely helpful to me in my BDCP application process. Great gouge all around. I was selected last month for SNFO BDCP, sworn in shortly after...all that good stuff:D. Anyway, my question is this: I'm studying abroad this summer in the south of France, and I was wondering how careful I should be about wearing clothes with military logo's, etc. I've never been abroad before, so I'm not really sure how I would be received with say a Navy t-shirt or something like that. I was just wondering if anyone with some experience travelling abroad would have some input for me. It's not like I'm going to the Gaza Strip or anything, but who knows...Thanks!

cfam

None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Don't be obnoxious/overly obvious about it, and people will be fine. I spent a month in Germany backpacking last summer and wore some navy related t-shirts, and people were great about it. Most just wanted to know how i felt about the war, and what exactly my job was. As long as you aren't constantly drawing attention to yourself you'll be fine. You'll have an awesome time, definitely take advantage of the train system to see other places (Italy, Germany, Amsterdam) because you won't have time to travel once you hit flight school.

anghockey

Fleens? You're not Fleens!
lelyon--I lived in the south of France for three years (about 20 mins from Avignon.) Simply put, you can wear whatever you want as long as you show respect and don't be a snobby American!

IRfly

None