• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

speeding ticket

hai24

pilot
Does anyone have any specific advice as to what to do with a Virginia speeding ticket outside of MCB Quantico?

FLY_USMC

pilot
If you really want advice, this is what I've always done, at least in my home state. CAVEATED WITH I've learned when it's appropriate and when it isn't appropriate to bend the speed limit, and I now make a point not to put myself in a "need to speed" setting.

You get the ticket....you show up to the court date on the ticket.....you plead not guilty......they set up another court date.....before which time you set up a meeting to speak with the city/county prosecutor. At this point, you can say whatever you want, I'm a pilot and tickets aren't good for my record/it was raining and I couldn't see the speed limit/I don't care what you say.......but if you're cool enough.....they will typically just have you pay the court fees(cheap) and send you on your way with a non-moving violation if anything. They want your money, not your license.

Has worked a grand total of 4 times in my younger years and my uncle the truck driver who taught me this, says it's worked for him more times than he can count. Say it doesn't work, well if you're poor like I was in college, you just bought yourself 2 months to get the $$ for the ticket.

JMMH

Ugh.
Without getting into specifics of: are you a resident of VA, was it a city/county cop or VA state trooper...

If you're at TBS, would you even be able to make a court date-- or 2?

JZAB

Livin the MEU life
pilot