• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Special Forces for NAs/NFOs

Hopeful Hoya

pilot
Contributor
Hey everyone,

Just thought I'd introduce myself. I'm a student at Georgetown working towards graduating and hopefully getting a SNA slot from OCS (still a couple of years away though).

Anyways, I'm a long time lurker and I'm just trying to soak in everything I can about Naval Aviation in general. I was curious as to what kinds of opportunities there are for aviators and NFOs to serve in the special forces. It seems like the Navy has no special squadrons (a la the Army's 160th SOAR or the AF's Special Operation Wings), although I seem to remember reading somewhere that the best NAs can serve as JTACs for SEALs and other forward-deployed special operations groups.

Is there anything else that I missed? And I'm just asking out of curiosity, I know that all I should be focused on right now as far as my path is concerned is keeping my head down and trying to graduate with a good GPA.

Thanks guys, and I'm proud to finally be (officially) part of the AW community!
Chris

CommodoreMid

Whateva! I do what I want!
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Not officially flying dedicated for them and only them if that's what you mean. The HSC types have done stuff like that before, and if you go pointy nose you have the opportunity to get a JTAC qual. Other than that any work you would do would be on a shore tour or something like that, unless you get some weird special gig that no one here has likely heard of. Currently in a class with an O-5 pilot type whose last shore tour was with SOCOM, but likely the exception to the rule.

Hopeful Hoya

pilot
Contributor