• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Im Interested in Flying for the Coast Guard

helolover

HeloLover
Im a high scholl student. I know a fair amount about aviation, but little about the Coast Guard. I am looking into both the Navy and the Coast Guard.

I've already seen the limited info on the Coast Guard's website on the Blue 21 flight initiative. The school I plan to attend (Georgia Tech) qualifies for the 25% minority.

However, I still want to know more about it.
Also, what is it like driving helicopters for the Coast Guard?

sardaddy

pilot
Flying helicopters in the Coast Guard is the best gig in the military. Sorry Navy, you know it's true.

Blue 21 is a great initiative. You get OCS and flight school guaranteed before you enter the service. You aren't guarateed to pass, just guaranteed a spot. You don't have to be a minority to apply, only go to a school with 25% minority enrollment. In fact I just heard last night from someone on this years board that the 25% requriement may be changing as well. We will see, it is just a rumor at this point though.

Either way it's a good program. Stay focused through high school and follow up with a recruiter soon and get the ball rolling.

Good luck.

Scoob

If you gotta problem, yo, I'll be part of it.
pilot
Contributor
Flying helicopters in the Coast Guard is the best gig in the military. Sorry Navy, you know it's true.
Leaving the door wiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiide open aren't we, Stretch?

HercDriver

Idiots w/boats = job security
pilot
Super Moderator
Leaving the door wiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiide open aren't we, Stretch?
You need to put in more lower case "I"s, please.
And you are just jealous 'cuz our planes are prettier.:icon_wink

sardaddy

pilot