• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Status
Not open for further replies.

Leveredup17

Marine OCS Candidate
As the title says, I just passed the ASTB with the minimums for a USMC OCS Air contract on my first go on 4/27/23; as there were plenty of helpful resources out there I would like to give back by answering whatever I can. Some main points that stuck out for me were as follows.

1. I feel as though I got free points by making sure I studied all of the Air / Naval knowledge - I used several different online flashcard decks and drilled them every day for a few days leading up to the exam, in my opinion given the variability in the test takers perceived difficulty of the OAR section, this is a great confidence boost to know you for sure have some easy points coming down the line
  2. I know I did not do as well as I could have in the math section, as many had alluded, the questions were harder than most test prep resources, and I wish I had listened to others who mentioned doing SAT-type algebra. Your mileage may vary but what I believe would have helped me the most was being quick with rules around exponents, and fractions, and being able to simplify expressions rapidly
  3. I feel slightly lucky as I tend to think the probability is relatively easier and I feel like I got a lot of those questions, most were straightforward, just make sure you read what exactly they are asking for (and vs. or) and study any charts they give you for a few quick seconds before diving into trying to answer