• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

How hard to get intel?

NavyVol

I have just enrolled in the BDCP as a SWO officer, like all recruits I trusted my recruiter. He told me that transferring to Intel would not be that big of a deal, and now when I ask him he laughs saying its impossible. I am a sophomore at University of Tennessee Knoxville and am majoring in Political Science, and have a 3.5GPA. I am taking Arabic and will have a working knowledge by the end of the year, and I don't see why that wont jump me to the front or something more exciting that SWO. All i hear in news is about how military needs people who can speak Arabic. . . Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

fc2spyguy

loving my warm and comfy 214 blanket
pilot
Contributor
Absolutely! You can go on a boat, and be part of the secret squirrel club!

torpedo0126

i am not familiar with how BDCP works. But if its anything like NROTC or the Academy, those commissioning sources only commission unrestricted line officers. The only way you can get something like intel (restricted line) is to either go Marines or be medically disqualified.

Also, your recruiter was right in saying that you can lateral transfer...Unfortunately, I've always been told that you must first get your warfare qualification pin before you can even think about a lateral transfer.

m0tbaillie

Former SWO
i am not familiar with how BDCP works. But if its anything like NROTC or the Academy, those commissioning sources only commission unrestricted line officers.

For the record, this is not true.