• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Expert Pistol Shot Medal/Ribbon..

jmiller82

I was wondering for some of you prior service or active duty guys out there, if anyone is qualified as a marksman, sharpshooter, or if they have received the expert rifle shot or expert pistol shot medals? If so, how exactly do you go about qualifying or testing for this? Is it limited to Special Warfare guys or is it for any designator (i.e. Aviators & NFO's) that wants to take the course or attempt to qualify? I was just curious because I saw it on someone's resume the other day at the office and didn't get a chance to ask about it. I have some experience in both pistol and rifle (hunting/high powered) range practice and was just wondering if that was something available to me in the future (of course, after I finish OCS, API, Primary, Intermediate, FRS, etc!).. Also, one more question: My father is a retired Navy Chaplain (O-5), but swears he took the pistol marksmanship course (just because) and did so so.. However, I was under the impression that the Chaplain was forbidden to engage in such acts involving weapons (even if it is just targets!), per the NAVREG.. Aren't RP's supposed to carry out that sort of stuff? Of course, he can't remember when and where it happened, but swears on it!

TheBubba

I Can Has Leadership!
None
As for the pistol/rifle ribbons:

I wear expert in both. I know all military personnel (save maybe chaplains and doctors) are eligible to shoot their respective service's pistol and rifle qualification courses, and wear the appropriate awards based on performance.