• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Checking into TW-1

gte544j

I'm a student checking into the wing at NAS Meridian this Thursday, just wondering what the expected uniform is, and if there's anything special I need to know before I show up. Also, what's the class-up wait looking like these days?

nittany03

Recovering NFO. Herder of Programmers.
pilot
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
You'll get all the pool gouge when you show up. And checkin and classup are the only things you'll need khakis for. Oh, and be sure to get a squadron patch so you're not wearing a VT-whatever one on your flight suit.

Fly Navy

...Great Job!
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor
If you end up in VT-7, the United States Navy patch on the flight suit is a no-no, CO Hates it. Buy the "We Train Hookers" patch ASAP. I think in VT-9 you can't wear that one until you solo. Is that still the case nittany?

nittany03

pilot
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Yup. The old CO instituted that shortly after I checked in and bought the patch. Something about being able to take the jet out by yourself before you can wear the patch for it. In VT-9, you'll get one when you get your solo certificate, though given the rate those are coming out these days, you'll probably be in forms by then . . . :icon_tong

Fly Navy

...Great Job!
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor
nittany03 said:
Yup. The old CO instituted that shortly after I checked in and bought the patch. Something about being able to take the jet out by yourself before you can wear the patch for it. In VT-9, you'll get one when you get your solo certificate, though given the rate those are coming out these days, you'll probably be in forms by then . . . :icon_tong