• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Academy or NROTC?

NathanH

Hi, I'm a sophomore in high school and want to be a Naval Aviator. What are the benefits and negatives of going the the Academy vs. NROTC? Do I have a better chance of getting a training slot with one or the other?

Thanks for the advice,
Nathan

Schnugg

It's gettin' a bit dramatic 'round here...
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Welcome to the forum.

Have you fully researched the NROTC and USNA threads here? I would recommend you do that first. I know this question has been discussed in depth in the not so distant past. If you don't find a current link or thread, then we'll gladly chime in.
Cheers,
Schnugg

FrankTheTank

Professional Pot Stirrer
pilot
Do you want to drink beer and get laid... Which I assume, at least in part, is the reason you want to be a Naval Aviator???

Answer that question and if it comes back the way I expect, then apply to the ROTC of your choice!! :D
Unless you are a chick then ask the same question without the beer and if that comes back the way I expect, then apply to the Academy... :eek:

loadtoad

pilot
Contributor
Better suggestion:

State school (in-state tuition), tech degree, 3 years on BDCP.

If I could do it all again this is what I would do... ROTC would be my 2nd choice.

BDCP allows you to get selected for a pilot slot early on and then the Navy pays you for the rest of school. I don't know all the specifics but it's the best deal...

MasterBates

BDCP = Gauranteed SNA slot (or SNFO if you apply for that)
ROTC = Service selection, which may or may not go your way

Oh, and time in BDCP counts towards retirement, and years of service for pay purposes. Most of us BDCPers were getting O-1 over 2 at commissioning.

bunk22