• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

What are my chances of becoming a Naval Aviator? (Pilot)

michigander

I have met with an officer recruiter with the Navy. I'm about to start my application process.

I have a Bachelors degree in Aviation Flight Science with a 3.08 GPA from Western Michigan University. I also have my Multi-engine and Single Engine Commercial Pilot's license with Instrument rating. 1100 HRS Total Time in fixed wing aircraft and have been flying for 5 yrs.

Just wondering if anyone out there has any idea how competitive i am with my experience background. And what chance I have of making it through the OCS/Flight training programs with the Navy and getting to fly the aircraft I choose (it doesn't matter what I fly, something with at least 2 engines would be preferred and NO HELO's)

Thanks for your input.:)

Gatordev

pilot
Site Admin
Contributor
I can't answer the question about numbers for completion, maybe Bunk can. However, your chances of NOT getting helos is about 45-50%. Enjoy the ride.

zab1001

pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor
You can request what you'd like to fly and if you have the grades and the Navy has the seat, you'll get it.

(it doesn't matter what I fly, something with at least 2 engines would be preferred and NO HELO's)

Make up your mind.

Ducky

Formerly SNA2007
pilot
Contributor
Your grades are decent. Not the best, but by far not the worst. Also, the Navy loves guys with technical majors such as engineering. So guys with those majors will probably have a leg up on you when it comes to being admitted to OCS. Perhaps someone with more experience with OCS applications could give you a better perspective, but I think your chances of getting into OCS are pretty good.