• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Writing young adult book - need some CQ questions answered, please?

Lougideon

Hi. Thank you in advance for your help with my book! But most of all, thank you for your service to our country.

I'm a female writer who knows only what she's researched online as well as talking to a couple of very helpful pilots so far regarding flight training, carrier qualification and the Blue Angels. One pilot helpfully suggested I join this forum to ask any further questions, so here goes...

In my book, Jake, a 22 year old who is stationed at NAS Kingsville, is about to test for his carrier qualification. I have four questions:

1. If he's already at Kingsville and is about to test for carrier qualification, what would his present rank be? Fighter pilot?

2. I read online that to get CQ'd a pilot must make 6 successful passes (are passes take-offs and landings? Is that 6 of each?) And that 3 of these must be at night. Is that currently the protocol?

3. Jake gets psyched out when he observes another "trainee" (is trainee the correct word?) boltering and going off the edge of the ship. The guy who boltered is killed. Is this feasible?

4. And finally, when Jake is telling his Dad about this and how nervous it's made him for his own upcoming testing (his father was a mechanic for the Blue Angels) he uses phrases like "being psyched out" and "doing a head trip on himself." Are there any other such terms that pilots use that are better pilot-lingo for being "freaked out?"

5. Woops. I just thought of another one. Is there a difference between furlough and Christmas leave? Or are they just pretty much different words for the same thing - time off?

Thank you again for your time. It is much appreciated.