• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

What to fly... Advice?

Rg9

pilot
I'm about 2 weeks from selection and am still undecided on what to put down. I'm looking for some advice. Although no one can know their NSS in advance, I'm quite confident I'll be above a 50, so that means my choices really do matter (aka, I might not get sucked up into helo world by default).

I'm married, enjoy flying, but I don't want flying to be my life. I enjoy working with other people and desire leadership opportunities. I'm not an Air Force officer that only flies during his career; I'm a Naval Officer, and as such, seek to be diverse in my abilities and jobs.

I find that if I am working with people that I get along with on a common goal that I can enjoy almost any kind of work. If I don't like the people, I don't like the work, no matter how "fun" it is. I know you're not always going to get along with everyone, especially in aviation, and I can deal with that (I've gotten this far). But since I have to select a choice, I want a community that I would best fit in.

Any thoughts?

Rg9

pilot
It means that almost everyone has been going helos the last few months. HT-28 just stood up so all the HT's are undermanned. Besides, the Navy always needs helo pilots the most. I thought that was obvious.

xmid

pilot
Contributor
I don't understand why guys think they have to defend their communities... (and don't take this as a personal cut on anyone) If people really do enjoy their communities and think its the best then why do they have to defend it when someone seems to be saying they don't want it? The same applies for NFO's. I wanna see some posts by guys saying "I hope I don't get sucked in to jets" just to see if there would be a similar reaction.