• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

USMC ''guaranteed'' flight slot??

GLEASON_USMC

Hey guys this is my first post ever so bear with me, I'm using this forum as specifically as a means of gathering information and answering questions by utilizing the seemingly endless knowledge affiliated with the members of this site. Let me start by saying I've been researching the processes of becoming a military pilot through every branch of service for SEVERAL months now and have exhausted nearly every possibility for doing so except two.. I am a sophomore in college (with nearly as many credits as a junior) and I had been extremely devoted to the idea of transferring to a four year university & doing AF ROTC to compete for a pilot slot, & I was prepared to give 110% on every aspect necessary to get that slot. However, I've recently been looking into the Marine Corps Aviation track. Not only do I want to be a marine corps officer more than any other branch of service, I want that title, I want that responsibility, & I want to serve my country; BUT, I chose this also because of the fact that USMC offers a 'guaranteed' flight slot.. Now I'm well aware that NOTHING in the military is guaranteed and that there are several circumstances which must be met or avoided to ensure I make it through TBS & off to flight school. My question is, can I get flight school guaranteed in my contract in writing? & also, if I get to TBS after already being commissioned in the corps & they say there are no current openings in flight school are my dreams crushed or would that not happen? What could potentially happen in TBS that would revoke my flight slot? I simply want to make sure I'm making the best decision to achieve my goal of becoming a military pilo