• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

the process....

Status
Not open for further replies.

paikea

Eight-year-olds, Dude.
Hello everybody. I'm currently a sophomore in high school, but I'm thinking ahead to my future career options, and I figured now is the best time to start taking some action.

My dream is to be a fighter pilot. I've attended air shows, learned about the life style and the reality (not the Top Gun "reality"), and I've finally decided that I want this to be my career. I've looked at the pipeline diagram, and other threads loosely regarding the process and steps to becoming a fighter pilot, but I just want a straight answer for myself.

So far, I've figured this much out, and I know I'm leaving plenty out, and that's why I want a straight answer. So please, someone help.

1. Finish high school with high academic standings.
2. Attend University of San Diego.
3. Begin NROTC.
4. Finish college as an officer in the USN.
5. ?????.
6. Start preflight at Pensacola.
7. Go SNA.
8. Start primary.
9. Go strike intermediate/advanced at NAS Meridian.
10. Go advanced at NAS Meridian.
11. Start F-14.

(This is at least how I want it to go, but I know there is a possibility it won't.)

I'm probably way off, and could someone please help me out with number 5? Keep in mind i'm only 15. Thanks a lot, and please, no flaming.

rare21

pilot
Contributor
I'd put Go SNA before you graduate from college (since you get picked while still in the program) and there really is no number five if you get SNA. You graduate, wait around and go to API, etc. Still by the time you get out to the fleet (if it all works out) F-14s will most likely be gone. Study hard now and get good habits..you're gonna need them to get jet grades.

paikea