• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

STUPID questions about life as a Naval Flight Officer (NFO)

goplay234

Hummer NFO
None
P-3 Fo's

OK, so I select in about two weeks and am undecided. I have heard a lot of great things about the "P-3 lifestyle". You know, Car Per Diem and all that stuff. What I really want to know is what does a P-3 FO actually do other then Navigate (obviously). Every P-3 bubba I have talked to can't stop talking about their wonderful trips but never talk about their jobs. It leads me to believe that it isn't that great. If any of you could help me out, that would be great. Thanks.

zab1001

pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor
(I'm a Pilot, BUT...)

The are Navigator/Communicators (NAV/COMM) and there are Tactical Coordinators (TACCOs).

NFOs start as Navs, doing Nav ***** work. Extremely important job, tough, thankless, easy to f*ck up. Tactical communications, navigation, fixes, tactical logs, etc. etc. Also serves as a "back-up" or "voice of reason" if he has enough situational awareness in tactical environments to keep his head in the game.

Nav's are always studying to become TACCOs. TACCO runs the tactical picture. Tells flight (Pilots) where the plane needs to be. Coordinates all sensor data from his enlisted operators onboard (acoustic/esm/electr-optic) to find, follow, and stay in postion to kill bad guy (underwater, on the surface, or ground-pounding). TACCO, generally, runs the weapons systems and is responsible for target coordination/weaps employment.

FOs in P-3s generally either LOVE their jobs or hate them, and they are usually EXCELLENT at it or AWFUL. The awful guys are usually found out early in the Nav game and get sent out of aviation.