• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Questions regarding the Mechanical Section (and a few other things)

Durron

Hey I am currently studying to prepare for the ASTB. I had a few questions. I recieved my BA in Politics and Psychology so as you can probably guess I am not interested in the engineering/flight side of the Navy. What I am really looking for is a position in intelligence or some other management branch or possibly law. So far I've been able to relearn most of the math I haven't touched since high school, but the mechanical questions are posing quite a problem for me.

I was never a math person. I took up through calculus in high school and never took a math class, except statistics, in college. I also never took a physics class, which I think is whats making the mechanical sections a bit more difficult. Its like learning it from scratch. Some of the questions are pretty simple ti grasp (IE weight placement , simple gravity questions) but others are a bit more complex for someone with such a shallow background in physics. Most of the questions I can answer in the book are ones I just logically know the answer too.

Anyways, I was wondering, how important is this section on the test? For someone who's job field will probably involve little math/physics does it weight heavily? Or are all scores just looked at as a compilation of how well you do on all 3 sections?
Furthermore, I would really appreciate it if anyone had any tips for me on how to become more proficient on this part of the test. Doing well on this test as a whole is very important to me.