• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Questions from a befuddled would-be.

Status
Not open for further replies.

stEAGLE

greetings. I'm a prospective Navy Officer with that all-familiar dream of aviation. I've got no prior military training but do have my degree so have been considering OCS seriously as of late. However there are a couple things that might be huge in discouraging me from signing up:

1) Eye sight. I am really confused over this. I know the Navy performs PRK while you're on active duty if you qualify, but I've read that you're disqualified from pilot training if you received PRK before joining the Navy. I also have read that you have to take certain aptitude tests for pilot training near the very beginning of your OCS training. So let me get this straight - I can't get my eyes corrected before I enter OCS because of pilot disqualification, so obviously I'll fail the eye tests and get NPQ status, then eventually get PRK when the waiting list reaches me, and then...? What will I be doing in the meantime while I wait for PRK? Man, I'm freakin confused. Someone PLEASE clarify all this and I'll buy you a deserted island.

2) College Loan Repayment Program - a large reason why I considered the military in the first place was the enticing prospect of having my $20,000 in student loans get paid off. But I recently read this is only an enlistment incentive and not available for officers. Why??? So even before I'm commissioned, but while I am at OCS, I am not eligible? If this is true, can someone explain the reasoning behind this? Officers have college debt too!

That's basically it. I'll save my other less-important questions after I can get these things cleared up.

BTW, nice forums, glad to have found them.