• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Old dog new tricks

Camperman

Hi everybody, this question is for the doc and whoever wants to weigh in. I'm new to flight. Years ago I was targeted on the Academy, had a Senator's nomination, and didn't get in. I let myself get off course after that. I could go more into detail if you want, but here I'll fast forward to today.

I turn 30 in a few months. I had planned to participate in the March board for USMC recruiting, but my medicals took a long time and I've recently been DQ'd, on account of undiagnosed but documented heart racing issues.

When I was an infant, I had SVT, but was cleared at age 1. In my early 20's, I had a very stressful time with school and a girl, and this is what I think triggered the first, and second major heart racing issues, the second being the worst episode I've had. I went to get it checked out, and did a stress test/EKG/etc (2005?). Nothing was diagnosed, and they chalked it up to panic/stress. I've since had about 10 distinct episodes, with none happening in at least a year. I remarked on this as a history item when I went for counseling early in the summer because I was in a funk; part of getting out of that funk was realizing I still wanted to serve my country. This documentation must be what put DODMERB on edge.

I didn't have a clear picture of the NAMI timetable from my OSO, but now that possibility is pushed back behind two options to clear DODMERB:

1- Waiver. I don't have the letter back yet but will look into this.

2- New study/clearance from a doc. I've already decided to pursue this route and I'm going Monday for an interview.