• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

OCS criticisms

Status
Not open for further replies.

skool2NFO

I graduated OCS back in July, and the more time that passes, the more upset I get at how OCS did not distinguish between the officer candidate enviornment and the real world. A simple example is that at OCS you are required to wear shirt stays, tuck in shoe laces, etc. It wasn't until after I graduated that I thought to ask the question, "Do I still need to tuck in my shoe laces?" In other words, is this a Navy reg, or just another silly OCS requirement?

Some other smaller examples:

1) At OCS, you must always wear your uniform when on liberty. After graduating I questioned (and to this day I still don't know the answer) when I'm allowed to wear the uniform (if not working). For example, while on leave, can officers just wear their service khakis to lunch if they feel like it?

2) At OCS you address everyone as "sir" or "ma'am." But outside of OCS, for example, how would an Ensign address a warrant officer?

3) At OCS, you must wear the combination cover (vice the garrison cover) with the all-weather coat. Again, is this a fleet thing or an OCS thing?

Anyway, I pose those questions as some examples of an area where I feel OCS could improve its educational outcomes. (Also, in listing those examples, I invite anyone who knows the answers to post them!)

J.S.

zab1001

pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor