• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Navy or Air Force, Pilot or Spec Warfare?

AllAmerican75

FUBIJAR
None
Contributor
Hey guys,

My buddy turned me onto this forum years ago and I recently found a note I had written the URL on, I figured this would be a great place to ask a few basic questions to get opinions.

I'm a college grad looking to join the military as I am finding I had the corporate, 9-5 world; I get paid well, but the jobs suck. I have 2 Bachelor of Science degrees, one in Cybersecurity and one in Computer Science; I am only 23 and graduated in 2019.

I'm trying to decide between the Air Force and the Navy for either of their piloting of Spec Forces/Spec Ops rates. I was wondering if anyone would have any experience as a PJ and could shed some light as to what they do, there's plenty out there about SEALs, but any info on them would be appreciated as well. Also, for the pilots, the difference in the Air Force and Navy piloting programs and which you would recommend. I really don't want rotary, I want fighter or reconnaissance aircraft.

What test scores do I need for the various jobs, and I know there are different tests for Officer and Enlisted, any idea what rank I would be bumped to if I went enlisted with my degrees? Any study guides? I took the ASVAB back in highschool, so I know I haven't seen some of that stuff for well over 6 years, same with the ASTB. I took the OAR once, any way to train for that to get better scores?

For the Air Force, what does selection look like after indoc? Is it like the Navy where you have to choose from what they have open, or do you get to push for a specific aircraft?

Any and all information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys!