• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Marine pilot lifestyle

Status
Not open for further replies.

ucf_motorcycle

I am considering pursuing a commission as a Naval Aviator in the Marine Corps. A little bit about me: I am currently a project manager for a roofing company, I will be 24 this month, I am single, I have a commercial pilot’s license with instrument and multi engine and about 215 hours. I have yet to take the ASTB or the PFT. I recently applied for a Air Force pilot slot and was non select this last board. My experience with the air force has not been very positive thus far. It was a very long process to apply and in the end I missed a deadline for the previous selection board which had a 90% selection rate for pilots and ended up in the board with the 25% selection. Me being one of the many qualified non selects. A large portion of my interest for joining the marines I have to admit is because I had heard that they are in need of pilots. I understand that the military is changing and the Marines are growing while as the Air Force is actually currently downsizing. Being as my mother was in the Air Force it seemed natural for me to apply to them since she told me good things about them. Until recently I knew very little about the marines and I am trying to get information to see if it is the right thing for me. So far I have been impressed with my experience with the Marines recruiters. I also think that the physical qualifications are important, which is something that the air force doesn't make very important. There are actually many aspects of what I like about the marines but I wanted to hear opinions from actual marines.