• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Marine Corps Aviation Contract Lengths

falanor

Gentlemen,

I am a 25 college graduate in the process of a Marine Corps application. I have finished MEPS and am waiting for my eye surgery waiver before I get cleared to Pensacola.

I have heard various reports, even from my OSO, about the length of an aviation contact, depending on your platform. The most common numbers I have heard are for jets being 8 years and helicopters being 6 years.

Since my Fiance has recently gotten cold-ish feet about being "owned" by the military for 10 years, I was hoping for some firmer information to calm her fears/make solid plans. So can anyone confirm or refute a specific contract length?

Much thanks,

Robert F

P.S. - Apologize if this has already been asked. I searched the forums, but couldn't find this after 3 pages of searching. Figured it was a safe bet to ask. However, if someone can post a link to a thread with the information I will gladly head there.

Swanee

Cereal Killer
pilot
None
Contributor
I'm pretty sure it's all 8 years from winging now. When I came in was 6 for helos/tiltrotor and 8 for fixed wing. I've been in for more than 3 years and haven't winged yet (Jets)- so that is 11+ years that I'll be giving our rich uncle from Washington.

Harrier Dude

Living the dream
If she's freaking out about your contract length at this point, something's got to give.

Run like hell.

Either TO her, and AWAY from the Corps, or vice versa.

Not a shot at her or you, just a word of advice from a guy who's been there and sees a HUGE red flag.

falanor