• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Looking into becoming an officer; would appreciate some insight

Status
Not open for further replies.

wannabeNAVY

Hello all,

I'm currently a sophomore in college and have been doing some reseach on BDCP, OCS, and becoming an Officer in the Navy in general. Early next year, I want to apply for BDCP and OCS. I will try to get in touch with an officer recruiter next week; but before I do that and make myself look like an idiot, I want to make sure there is at least a shred of hope for me.

I transferred schools this year; my GPA at my previous school was a 3.7. Now I have a clean slate and the possibility of earning a 4.0 if all goes well on my exams this week.

My major is Communication with a minor in International Studies. I speak Polish fluently and have "mastered" Spainish at the "intermediate" level.

Unfortunately, I am a first-generation American (my parents are immigrants) and have no connections with anyone in the Armed Forces.

I would be particularly interested in any of following:
-Intel
-Crypt
-Aviation (Yeah, I know, no need.)

I'm not too crazy about the prospect of a "desk job"...I have been browsing through the forum and reading various experiences and stories, and have started to doubt myself. It seems much more qualified candidates (those with decent GPAs in a tech major, impressive athletic records, and connections in the Forces, among other things) are not getting what they had hoped for.

Physically, I'm a kinda skinny dude (6'1", 175lbs.) and I know I would have to spend the next two years working hard on strength, endurance, and swimming to be competitive at OCS.