• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

leave charged over holidays?

theduke

just checked into TRAWING 6. sounds like they're gonna charge us leave over holidays if we fly anywhere or go outside of 350 miles (for 72s and 96s). whatever happened to special liberty requests/out of bounds requests?

Gatordev

pilot
Site Admin
Contributor
That's pretty much standard Navy wide. An out of bounds request is a training command-ism, and it doesn't give you free time to go out of bounds, it's just a CYA for the command so they know you're going out of bounds. As a student, I always thought the liberty radius was bogus, since the regs don't say anything about it, but the command has the right to be more restrictive. Now, after having to hunt down several guys who have worked for me while in the fleet after they haven't returned, I understand why the radius is there, painful, though it may be.

theduke

right, right, i understand that an out of bounds request isn't a free lunch in terms of getting leave without getting charged (if it's a working day). it just didn't seem quite right to get charged for leave over Thanksgiving or Christmas, for example, just because I'd be going to Raleigh (when I could go to say, Atlanta, and not get charged for leave).

Is this just another one of those "it makes no sense, but it is what it is" scenarios?

Gatordev

pilot
Site Admin
Contributor
Pretty much, but it also helps cover you if you get hurt. Then you're officially "in the line of duty, off duty" or whatever. I can't remember what the actual blurb is, but I'm sure someone will correct me in mere minutes.

HalfBreed

None