• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Infantry Officer Course

USMC Philly

I was reading through the TBS website and I saw all the references to IOC. What is it all about? How long is it? Is it an infantry officers MOS school? Etc. Any insights would be much appreciated.

E5B

Lineholder
pilot
Super Moderator
Make a mental note at the begining of TBS of all the SNA's that want to go to IOC before flight school, then compare that to the amount that want to go towards the end of TBS. It'll surprise you.

vvmountainvv

i was a pilot slot at TBS, my room mate got grunts. i would have done IOC had they given me the opportunity, but anyhow...

i did IFS after TBS so i saw my old room mate occasionally as he went through IOC. they try to keep a lot of what they do on the down low as they don't want the TBS Lt's to have much idea of what goes on at IOC. needless to say, it is pretty tough. lots of field time, lots of uncertainty as to "what are we doing next"...they try to impose a lot of fog and friction on the students as they go through from what i understand. it's 10 weeks long.

things i do know IOC does include mortar week where you do mortar shoots, you will do a live fire assault with live mortar support, lots of MCMAP, you will probably get pepper sprayed at some point (much worse than the gas chamber i hear) and most if not all classes get to go out to CAX at 29 palms. my buddy also got to do a threat weapon fam fire, at least the AK-47, maybe some other weapons. double E course, who knows what else.

phrogpilot73

Michael W said:
heard the first run was fill your sandbags and put them in your daypack, we're going on a 5 miles boots and utes run