• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

How to impress a Marine recruiter?

littletuvok

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting on this forum, but I've read a lot of posts over the past year. I've been considering getting into the military as a pilot ever since graduating high school, and have finally decided this is the path I want to take. This is after getting my PPL in May 2008 and being faced with graduation this May. The Marines look most attractive to me right now, because I figure if I'm signing up for the next few years, I better make sure I'm trying my damndest. Well, the recruiters were on campus a couple days ago and I told them we could get together this week to talk about OCS. I realize now that this interview may be the most important one of my life, because I have to make a good impression if I'm going to get this opportunity. I've been told flat out by a couple of my employers that I don't interview well. I've got good grades (3.5/4.0), am physically fit, but I have an underage drinking ticket (when I was 19, I'm 23 now), and was treated for depression when I was 14. I'm not sure yet, but I may need a vision waiver/PRK as well. Basically, I really need to make myself look stellar this week if I'm going to get any sort of shot at this. Any advice?

torpedo0126

Well I'm not exactly sure how the Marine Corps works, but I am fairly sure you don't want to be speaking to a recruiter but to the nearest OSO.

Also, while it is important to appear professional, the I don't believe the recruiters will be the ones determining if you get selected or not. That will be up to a board based on your credentials.

Again, I am not sure how the Marine selection works.

m26

Contributor
Use the enter and tab key