• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Flying in Highschool

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charlie

I've been flying for about 7 months.I soloed and took my stage I check and am working on cross country navigation.I'm 16 and a sophomore in highschool.I plan on getting my private pilot and maybe my instrument.Anyone here fly when they were my age and find that it helped getting into the academy,college,ocs, or nrotc?Has it helped you in your flight training?thanks for helping.

Gatordev

pilot
Site Admin
Contributor
Charlie:

I was flying at that age, and had a great time. I worked at a local flight school as a lineman and traded labor for flight instruction. I did the solo at 16 thing too, which is pretty cool. Actually I soloed before I had a driver license.

I unfortuneately ran out of time in HS before I could finish my private, so I never could check that box on my apps, but I did make a reference to working on the ticket. I finally got it after my freshman year in college. I would say that it's helpful in the flight pipeline, but as it's been said endlessly here, you have to go in w/ an open mind and plan to relearn some things the Navy way.