• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Female Jet Pilot

bikegirl

Two legs, two wheels, one big smile.
I'm interested in joining the the Navy to become a jet/fighter pilot. I have read on this forum (and heard from other sources) that it is incredibly difficult to be selected to fly jets. Is this true? What could I do to make myself more marketable in order to be selected to attend flight training school and get through OCS? I'm a dual major in Aerospace Engineering and Geology with a 3.75 GPA, I'm a competitive cyclist and active in a large number of organizations. But I have no flight experience at this point.

Also, if there are any female Naval aviators out there, could you give me a little insight into what it's like and what it takes to excel in that career?

Thanks!

skidkid

CAS Czar
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor
I dont know if there are any female aviators on the forum. As with any selection it all comes down to many factors almost none of which you ahve any control over. If you are number one in your primary class you are ALMOST guaranteed jets-that is waht you ahve some control over i.e. do well. The overriding factor is THE NEEDS OF THE SERVICE THAT WEEK, if they are short P-3 guys there might be a big prop draft and everyone get those or Helos or there might be a jet draft on. Noone here can tell you what your chances of getting into OCS, through flight school or to a particular platform are. Just apply, do well see what happens, if youa re fortunate enough to wear Wings of Gold I promise you will love whatever platform you get.
Good luck

Gatordev

pilot
Site Admin
Contributor