• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

ASTB Far Different than I expected

JohnH

A little about me first as this is my first post. I am an Army Intelligence Analyst, NCO, and college graduate.
I am looking to better myself and advance my career by becoming an officer. I would have chosen to stay in the Army, but they like to impose ridiculous restrictions like age limits of 28. Here I am now, applying to commission in the Navy, either in Information Warfare or in Intelligence.

I took the OAR portion of the ASTB Monday morning. I was immediately caught off guard by the difference in the test and all the preparation I had put in. My study material of choice was the Petersons Commissioning Study guide along with OASC (the DOD program for those who wish to raise aptitude test scores.)
I was caught off guard by how hard the Reading comprehension section was. I pride myself of being well read and the fact that I have always scored near perfect on these portions of the test previously. I am not so confident that I did well there.
The math section was 40 minutes long, though it cut out far sooner in my case. (I am unsure if that was good or bad).
The Mechanical Comprehension portion was almost exactly what I expected and I feel I did ok.

Over all my score on the OAR was a 46. NOT what I was hoping for, but enough to start the application process.
I plan on retaking in 90 days (that was also a change from the information I had received). Is there a better study guide out there that I can set up a study plan for the next 3 months for? How can I better study to improve my score?

exNavyOffRec