• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

DCO/IWC Qualifications with STEM Background

Geobrass

I am interested in applying to the Navy DCO program in the IW community, in particular INTEL (1835). I am aware this is a very competitive program, but I have a question related to the STEM nature of the INTEL program. Many AW forum posts ask for qualification advice and are typically of the type "I have a non-STEM degree from a great university, and I have a background in X, am I competitive for DCO programs?" In my particular case I have a very strong STEM background (see below), but no direct intel experience. I don't see many posts covering this situation, so I figured I would ask here for thoughts and advice for improving my chances.

My specific background:
  • Age = 34
  • No prior military experience
  • Formal Education (major research university in the Southwest USA):
    • B.S. Physics (3.4 GPA)
    • M.S. Electrical Engineering (4.0 GPA)
    • Ph.D. Electrical Engineering (4.0 GPA with distinction)
    • Graduate work supported by USAF, in topics related to directed energy systems; included experience at USAF directed energy warfare facilities
    • Received competitive scholarships from USAF and NASA
    • Received an achievement award in my R&D field (top graduate student worldwide in this area)
  • Currently employed (8+ years) at a major DOE/NNSA laboratory working in nuclear weapon (NW) science & engineering:
    • Several years experience in device engineering related to NW systems used by the USN and USAF
    • Team Lead for very large high-risk R&D projects (including leadership of 30 direct/indirect reports) associated with new modeling/analysis software for national security applications