• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Commissioning through BDCP

NAVY BDCP, unsure?

Hello everyone. I am a 3rd year student at a university and was considering taking advantage of the NAVY BDCP. My first question is Is it true that upon graduating, i will actually be a RESERVE officer or do I have the option to be active duty? Also, are there additional career paths that I can chose from or is it only what is listed here: http://www.navy.com/navy/joining/education-opportunities/undergraduate.html; which is basically
Aviation
Information Warfare
Intelligence
Meteorology & Oceanography
Public Affairs
Purchasing, Supply & Logistics
Special Operations

OnTopTime

ROBO TACCO
None
My first question is Is it true that upon graduating, i will actually be a RESERVE officer or do I have the option to be active duty?

Being a reserve officer and being on active duty are not mutually exclusive. Not saying that BDCP grads are commissioned as reserve officers, but there was a time not so long ago that 90% of all AOCS/OCS grads began their officer careers with a reserve commission.

Hi. Through bdcp will I be commissioned and serving reserve or active duty and will i be ale to join the medical service corps

m26

Contributor
Active duty* and no.

You need to do more research before posting questions like this. Search BDCP here and on google and read up on the program, and if you have any lingering questions post away. I can see how you could do your homework and still end up confused on these points, but somehow I sense you haven't done the legwork yourself.

Also, check out the forum gouge available here, and try not to post the same question in two places. And write like an adult.