• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Anyone not take a Commission?

bradler

I am curious to hear why some people did not take their commission. I just graduated from USMC OCS 196 and deferred my commission. I graduated top 10% of the class but decided I needed more time to weigh my decision on becoming a officer. I am a pilot contract and was unsure how career progression was for pilots. Also I was worried about if I would enjoy my life style. Could anyone out there please shine some light on the pilot community for the Marine Corps and the family aspect as well as the personal enjoyment of their duties. What you do like about being a pilot and what you don't like? I heard I would only fly 10%-15% of my career and spend the rest doing collateral duties or B billets. I am confused....

I am struggling with my thoughts and maybe looking to far down the life line. I was always the guy before OCS started saying "Why would anyone go through OCS and graduate and then not Commission?" And look what happened........

Thanks

$0.02

You came this far why stop now?
You have a contract, you've completed one of the hardest officer selection programs in the world
You are on the edge of commissioning
You are about to join the Marines, the branch that is known for the commitment of it's members to each other
Sure you may not fly every second that you want to, but that is life. Will you ever fly if you stop now?
Your happiness is a state of mind, a personal choice-your choice.
If you hate the job in ten years you can leave...if you leave now you can't just rewind.
.....your path is laid out before you all you have to do is start walking or or turn away.

skim

Teaching MIDN how to drift a BB
None
Contributor