• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Inter-service transfer, lead wings to wings of gold

cargoflyer

Hello all,
Thank you in advance for your patience and help with this, I am new to this forum. I am currently a pilot in the Air National Guard and have recently found a job opportunity with a Naval Reserve flying squadron. Before I start to pursue this new career I figured I'd get on here and have a couple of questions answered, if possible. Thanks again for the help

1. How feasible is transfer from the Air National Guard to the Naval Reserves?
2. If it is not too impossible, are there any prior air force guys on here that know how long of a process the entire thing is? What is the process like?
3. As a 3 year Captain (O3) with 13 years of service (7 of those enlisted) and an already rated mission ready c130 pilot, am I too long in the tooth to be marketable to the Naval Reserves?
3. What is the typical ops tempo for a Naval Reserve cargo flying squadron? I'd rather not leave a high ops tempo unit for another one.

I know this is quite a mess of questions so any help on any of them would be greatly appreciated.

v/r

CargoFlyer

MAKE VAPES

Uncle Pettibone
pilot
As a SELRES your chances are okay, depending on manning at whatever squadron you are looking at. As an active duty guy, your chances of transfering aren't nearly zero, they are zero. Active Reserve Navy is all about reserve management, and a little about flying (just enough to keep you sane).

You can plan on one (maybe two) dets per year of 1 or so months, depending on availability and your quals. You probably wouldn't be doing the same rides I do in Afghanistan, from what I've heard, usually two or three day trips are the norm (with a down bird somewhere between).