• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

ASTB Prep Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Yukon

I've got a question for anybody that has taken the ASTB and used the Marine ASTB Prep Test as a study tool. I've got both the Arco book and the ASTB prep test and was wondering how closely the marine prep test questions resemble those on the actual ASTB? As far as the types of questions and the way they are written? If you know the stuff on the prep test are you prepared enough for the different kinds of word problems, math knowledge etc.? Thanks in advance for your responses and accept my apologies if these questions have already been answered..I'm a newbie --Pete

E5B

Lineholder
pilot
Super Moderator
Pete,

I took the ASTB in Feb of 2000 when I was a Fresman and failed the math portion. The next 2 semesters I took Algebra and Trig, and then took the ASTB again and did good on all portions. I think the study guide is great and helped me a lot. If you're good at math, I wasn't, then you'll have no problem. I just needed a couple of refresher courses. I don't know what to say about the word problems, they are still "mind boggling" to me.
Hope this helps.

"You forgot your furtune cookie"

Dirty Harry

kent1644

Yukon,

The ASTB Marine study guide is a lot like the real test. Several of the questions are exactly the same. The aviation/nautical is very much the same. The Spatial in the ARCO is a little different than what is on the actual test.

cman