• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

All you gun owners give me some advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok so I'm new to the whole gun thing, not a very experienced shooter and am looking to get into it. Would it be a good or bad idea to go get some trigger time/lessons before OCC 190 in October? Or should I just wait and let the Marines teach me how to shoot properly.

Any advice on a good first pistol, getting into the sport in general would be awesome cause I know how much everyone on this forum loves their firearms.

vvmountainvv

if you want to buy a pistol so you can shoot, go for it. i don't think you will gain any leg up on rifle/pistol qualifications in the Corps by shooting for a few months before you go to OCS though. if you think it would be fun, do it. the Marine Corps will teach you to shoot their way though, so if you develop bad habits they might be tough to break when you go to the range.

On a simliar note, what handfun does a Marine Corps officer/aviator have to qual with... I was putting some rounds through a 9mm Berrata today the guy at my range told me that was what id qual with @ Quantico. True or false?

A4sForever

BTDT OLD GUY
pilot
Contributor
Since you said "ALL" gun owners I feel compelled to respond as I fall under that umbrella. But the only one of your questions that I can answer is that it's never a "bad" idea to learn about firearms ---- for a person in/going into the military --- or anyone else, for that matter ....

Where to start?? Go to a local gun store or hardware store that sells firearms and/or licenses and get connected with the local NRA. Then go to a NRA firearms safety course and that will open the doors for you ....

oztin79

Next question...which .45 to buy...