• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Why Aviation

Status
Not open for further replies.

penderwt

yut king
I am a Marine officer candidate, on the fence about air vs. ground. I figured this is a good place to get some shameless pro-aviation spin. Don't tell me to go navy, I'm a jarhead, through and through, but I'm looking to sell aviation to myself, and I thought maybe y'all could help.
Thanks

riley

To let you know my perspective, I am an OCC 187 Applicant and plan on being in Quantico in Oct. I have just a little over 100 hrs flight time (PPL - Non-instrument rated) mostly in Cessna 152s and 172s and a little time in a 1960 Mooney. I have no military experience and I don't pretend to know much about military flying for the simple reason that I don't know jack (I've read all the books, though).

My advice to you, and take it with a grain of salt, is to get an introductory flight from your nearest general aviation airfield. Cessna offers a $49 intro flight at their pilot centers (http://learntofly.com/howto/discovery.chtml). If there isn't one near you, check the yellow pages for flight schools/training. A lot of mom and pop places may take you up for free. I earned my certificate from a mom and pop place - best choice ever.

Once you take your flight, if you are smiling from ear to ear and people look at you strangely because you have a goofy look on your face, go air. If you had less than a perfect time, go ground. If you have already flown before and you asked the question, go ground.