• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

What Happens After AMDO School?

Status
Not open for further replies.

planejane

I am completing my last year of college, I have almost 9 years of aviation maintenance experience in my civilian job, and I work Supply in the Naval Reserves. I will soon be 33 years old. I will apply to both AMDO and Supply Corps and hope one will give me a chance.

My question is this is - when AMDO school is completed, is the first duty station on a ship or does one perform shore duty first? With my job experience and total love for airplanes, AMDO is my first choice. I am just wondering what happens after school, as there is not really that much mentioned regarding this position. Also, I know the Navy's needs come first, but with Officer, is there a "dream sheet" completed like on the Enlisted side? Any info would be greatly appreciated. I am reading everything I can on the Officer's side of things.

Thanks!
Planejane

Thisguy

Pain-in-the-dick
planejane,

the "dream sheet" doesn't exist for the AMDO community because it's so small. Timing is everything, since there are only 1 AMDOs in non-hornet squadrons, and 2 in hornet squadrons, you have to see who's leaving. You'll sit down with the detailer at OCS and they'll tell you what they have available based on your projected AMDO school grad date. In my case, the detailer had two billets for two guys (me and my friend), so there wasn't alot of selection.

KimberlyD