• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Wanting to become a Naval Aviator, I have some questions

AndrewG

Hello all, I have a few questions about becoming a Naval Aviator. I want to fly the F/A-18 Hornet and I am wondering if there are any reasons why I would not be able to. I am 20 years old, I graduated high school in 2008 and have not started any college yet. My plan is to start college (hopefully by next semester) and make my way to OCS (not totally sure if that's even the best course of action for this). I would like to know what majors would be best to pursue for what I want to do. I understand a BA is required and my GPA should be at least a 3.5 if not better. Physically I am a little underweight (I'm 5'11@~135lb) but I am working hard to gain weight ASAP. I used to wear glasses, however I've just had my vision corrected to 20/15 2 weeks ago via IntraLASIK. My grades in high school were a little below average (GPA 2.6 if I remember correctly :/) as I didn't apply myself nor did I pay attention very well in my classes (I'm sure none of you have heard that one before). From the information I've provided, is there any reason that anyone could give me as to why I wouldn't be able to become a fighter pilot? I would like to know if my dream is even possible before I start school. If there is any other info you all would need, please ask and I will be happy to answer. :)

Thank you all for your time.

twobecrazy

RTB...
Contributor