• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Want to be an officer

rober864

I am a Senior in Civil Engineering at the University of Minnesota. I will be graduating in May and for as long as I can remember, I've wanted to be a Naval Officer.

I was a student athlete in college (Division 1 swimming) which pretty much made NROTC out of the question. I was on two National Championship swim teams and swam on the United State Swimming National Team and was a finalist at the Olympic Trials in 2008. I was the captain of my team in high school. I'm grateful for my athletic background because it kept me in school, kept my head screwed on right, and kept me out of trouble.

My GPA isn't the highest (2.6). My number one choice program in the Navy would the CEC, but really I would be passionate about and would love to do just about anything else (SWO, Supply, ED, etc.)

I feel that one of my strong points besides my extracurricular activities are my communication skills (something a lot of engineers don't know the first thing about) and despite what my GPA says, I am a hard worker. Sometimes, managing more than 20 hours of practice a week along with a demanding academic load at a relatively prestigious university can be a lot. I think this is part of the reason my GPA isn't quite as high, but I am certainly not making excuses, I know that I could have done a better job.

I have quite a few good references, some of them retired commanders and lieutenant commanders who have known me since I was about 12 years old. I also have a US Ambassador as one of my references.