• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

VW Beetle Hybrid

MIDNJAC

is clara ship
pilot
here's one for all the VW owners.....

Jet Beetle

AB12_15_05copy.jpg

This is a my street-legal jet car on full afterburner. The car has two engines: the production gasoline engine in the front driving the front wheels and the jet engine in the back. The idea is that you drive around legally on the gasoline engine and when you want to have some fun, you spin up the jet and get on the burner (you can start the jet while driving along on the gasoline engine). The car was built because I wanted the wildest street-legal ride possible. With this project, I was able to use some stuff I learned while getting my fancy engineering degree (I have a PhD in Mechanical Engineering from Stanford University) to design a street-legal jet car without the distraction of how other people have done it in the past - because no one has. I don't know how fast the car will go and probably never will. The car was built to thrill me, not kill me. That doesn't stop me from the occasional blast on the highway though.

HeyJoe

Fly Navy! ...or USMC
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
Might have some fun on the airshow circuit though. Wonder if he can handle Shockwave.....

JetTruck.jpg

HeyJoe

Fly Navy! ...or USMC
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
PropStop said:
the only way i've seen the new beetle be cool.

I grew up on the classic Beetle and so did my spouse. Just got her a new Beetle for Christmas (her request along with jewelry) and I've driven it a few times. It's not that bad compared to the no name rental cars I end up driving on trips. But my 20 something daughter won't go near it....but she's into heavy iron (Broncos on steroids and lift kits).

Birdman