• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Too late in life to start as a USMC pilot?

theoldguy

I trying to decide if I should go ahead with a USMC aviation career or not. I went and took the ASTB about a month ago, and the recruiter told me I was too old to make it under the age deadline (I turned 27 in May). I just got a message today that I passed the test and they wanted to know if I was still interested in pursuing it.

Like I said, I'm 27 and have a wife due with our first child any day now. I graduated from college in 2000. I've always thought about being a military piliot, but never seriously looked into it until recently, when I discovered I was about to hit the age deadline. I'm still very interested, but I don't want to jump into this, and I'm thinking it may be the wrong point in my life for such a decision, especially if I need to rush everything through for October.

Any thoughts anyone can give me would be HUGELY appreciated. What's a Marine pilot's life like? How much would I expect to be away from home? What would life be like for me wife? Positives and negatives?

squeeze

Retired Harrier Dude
pilot
Super Moderator
Contributor
Just a heads up to anyone thinking about it... if you start derailing this thread with "You have to want to be an officer first" type reply, I'm going to delete it.

T-man