• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

To accelerate or not to be (accelerated)

Makk85

604KTS
pilot
I have read a few other vague posts on this topic, but needed a bit more info if anyone's been there, done that.

I have some prior flight experience and was curious if you are forced into the accelerated training during the initial stages of SNA training, or do you get some say in it? There is no doubt in my mind that flying as a civilian is nothing like flying the Navy way so I would like to get as much of the basics as possible. Also, do they even know if you have prior flight experience if you don't walk around bragging about it?

Uncle Fester

Robot Pimp
None
Super Moderator
Contributor
They'll ask you if you have prior flight time beyond IFS. If you have enough prior time to have skipped IFS, that'll be in your record. And even if you don't volunteer it, it'll become immediately apparent to the instructor the first time you go flying (ask me how I know this).

I think accelerated training is a matter of squadron (or at least TraWing) policy. The way it worked a few years ago, you could opt out of the accelerated syllabus if you wanted, but the skipper was encouraging guys to at least give it a shot, with the promise of a mulligan if they felt they were then in over their heads. Reduced TTT uber alles, and so on.

Tom

pilot
Contributor