• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

The importance of mathematics...

Status
Not open for further replies.

JasonG

Hello everybody. I recently found out that officers have the math courses they've taken on record with the navy. Why is this? Does it have a affect on a pilots career? I am a non tech-major and calculus is not necessary, I can graduate with -HS- math. If it makes all the difference I will take calc. Also, does one have to have a technical degree in order to get into test pilot school? I know it's mandatory for AF pilots but was wondering if the same applies with the navy.

Thanks again as always for the time to answer my questions.

Later,
Jason

Raptor2216

As far as the Test pilot school is concerned, it would be wise to have a technical major listed on your degree. From what I have heard in past, TP school is very competetive and you must have an excellent academic record if you even want to be considered. Again, this is what I have heard from other test pilots, but i'm sure it is correct.

Dawgfan

Pending
pilot
I took calculus, but damnit if I can't figure out what 134 plus 180 is when I'm trying to intercept a radial or something. I think I'm going to bring my TI-82 into the simulator with me.

aviatorshade

Catfish
pilot