• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

The best route for becoming a military aviator

Bushpilot

Alright, I am a second year student at ASU and I am also a licensed pilot. I had considered going to a military academy to become an aviator however, my parents would not give me the necessary signatures as I was 17 at the time. Anyway, I am interested in military aviation in general but am having very little luck deciding where to go and what to do.

I have looked at many options. First off, I looked at the Air Force as the answer. Honestly, who would have more fighter slots than the Air Force. However, Navy pilots have to fly technologically inferior airplanes and do the same job as the Air Force.

I then had a sudden urge to look at the Air National Guard. This option looked pretty good. I can fly a specific aircraft in which I can apply for. If I for some reason drop our of flight school, there is no military commitment and there is no relocating. However, something just doesn't feel right about that route.

The next major question I have is what type of "politics" are involved between the academy graduate pilots, and the other pilots? Is there a difference between what they fly, how much they fly, etc just based on where they graduate.

Lastly, who flies the most out of all the services? Just to confirm I am looking at fighter aircraft and yes, I know that all depends on how well I perform in UPT.

Brett327

None
Super Moderator
Contributor