• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Thank You AW!

TylerConnell

R6 > G6
New member here, wanted to introduce myself. My name is Tyler Connell (obvious username is obvious). I'm 22 and an aspiring SNA. Let me give you a little history on me.....

When I was very young my dad was a huge adrenaline junkie, still is now but age is catching up on him. He had a great idea to take me to a Thunderbird's airshow when I was about 5. I was in total awe at those F-16's. I don't want to be cliche, but he gave me Top Gun shortly after the air show. Shortly after Top Gun we went to go see the Blue Angels. I was certain that my future would lay in aviation. That was until high school graduation.....

When I graduated in May 2008 I immediately started visiting the local recruiting offices, only to be told my vision DQ'd me automatically (20/30 in both L and R eyes, which I would find out in the future was a lie). Now if you can imagine I'm pretty bummed at this point. I had a few friends that were joining the Army so I hopped onto the bandwagon and joined with them. Good ol' 11B infantry. You do stupid things with your young right? Well that was the stupidest thing I could have ever done in my whole life. Shortly after arriving to OSUT at Benning it became apparent that I had made a terrible mistake. When I shipped out of MEPS I weighed a whopping 135lbs. I was literally barely above the minimum weight limit. Starting off at OSUT was difficult at 18 and to spare you the boring details I failed 2 PT tests. Which in turn resulted in me being ELS'd out of the Army. I am not proud of that decision. I do, however, accept full responsibility for it as I was not forced to sign the contract. I volunteered for that situation and failed miserably at