• Please take a moment and update your account profile. If you have an updated account profile with basic information on why you are on Air Warriors it will help other people respond to your posts. How do you update your profile you ask?

Go here:

Edit Account Details and Profile

Stopped for DUI, convicted of Reckless Driving. Is this much of a problem?

cram88

BDCP Supply
I'm a sophomore at the University of North Florida, and my senior year of high school I was picked up after a wedding reception (fairly intoxicated) and taken in for a DUI. After hiring a lawyer, blah blah, it was dropped to reckless driving. DUI still shows up, but ultimately it is just reckless driving (due to lack of evidence of course). This won't be a dead end road for me will it? 3.6 GPA, accounting major, 6/6/7 60, 1220 SAT, 28 ACT. Hmm...any input is great!

VetteMuscle427

is out to lunch.
None
Maybe, Maybe-Not... nothing is final until you get that letter in the mail saying you didn't make the cut. Finish your application, make it strong, submit it... and see what happens. Then submit it again. And again if need be. I know you've seen the recruiter since you have an ASTB score... what did he say about the DUI?

Boomer91

I had a DUI when I was a bit younger and before I enlisted in the Navy. I got out and submitted a BDCP package for SNFO and was picked up. It happened 7 years before I submitted my package and have been squeaky clean ever since. So to answer your question, will it hurt you? Maybe a little bit, but not enough to disqualify you from the program in my opinion. I would definitely include in your package what you learned from the whole situation and how you plan on applying what you learned to your future junior sailors. Everyone makes mistakes, including myself. I think that they just want to see that you can bounce back, learn from it, and press on. It doesn't look the best, but it wont keep you from getting picked up in my humble opinion.

Picaroon

Helos
pilot